System.Web.Services.Protocols.Soap12FaultCodes Class

Defines the SOAP fault codes that appear in a SOAP message when an error occurs while communicating with XML Web services using the SOAP version 1.2 protocol.

See Also: Soap12FaultCodes Members


public sealed class Soap12FaultCodes


A SOAP fault in version 1.2 of the SOAP specification contains a Code element and among other things an optional Subcode element. The Code element is one of a pre-defined set of codes, informing a recipient that the cause of the error fell into one of five large error categories. Those five fault codes are represented by the Soap12FaultCodes.ReceiverFaultCode, Soap12FaultCodes.SenderFaultCode, Soap12FaultCodes.VersionMismatchFaultCode, Soap12FaultCodes.MustUnderstandFaultCode, and Soap12FaultCodes.DataEncodingUnknownFaultCode fields. The Subcode element allows the sender of the SOAP fault to provide an application-specific error code. ASP.NET defines two such codes that are represented by the Soap12FaultCodes.RpcProcedureNotPresentFaultCode, Soap12FaultCodes.RpcBadArgumentsFaultCode, Soap12FaultCodes.EncodingMissingIDFaultCode, and Soap12FaultCodes.EncodingUntypedValueFaultCode fields.

An XML Web service throwing an exception sets the SoapException.Code property, which represents the Code element, when a new instance of the System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException or System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHeaderException class is created. That error is transmitted over the wire as a SOAP fault, which a .NET Framework client can catch as a System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException or System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHeaderException.


Namespace: System.Web.Services.Protocols
Assembly: System.Web.Services (in System.Web.Services.dll)
Assembly Versions:
Since: .NET 2.0