System.Security.Policy.PolicyLevel Class

Represents the security policy levels for the common language runtime. This class cannot be inherited.

See Also: PolicyLevel Members


public sealed class PolicyLevel



Starting with the net_v40_long, the common language runtime (CLR) is moving away from providing security policy for computers. We recommend that you use tp:// or tp:// as a replacement for CLR security policy. The information in this topic applies to the .NET Framework version 3.5 and earlier; it does not apply to the net_v40_short and later. For more information about this and other changes, see Security Changes in the .NET Framework Version 4.0.

The highest level of security policy is enterprise-wide. Successive lower levels of hierarchy represent further policy restrictions, but can never grant more permissions than allowed by higher levels. The following policy levels are implemented:

[The 'ordered' type of list has not been implemented in the ECMA stylesheet.]

A policy level consists of a set of code groups organized into a single rooted tree (see System.Security.Policy.CodeGroup), a set of named permission sets that are referenced by the code groups to specify permissions to be granted to code belonging to the code group, and a list of fully-trusted assemblies.

Use System.Security.SecurityManager.PolicyHierarchy to enumerate the policy levels.


Namespace: System.Security.Policy
Assembly: mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)
Assembly Versions: 1.0.5000.0,,