System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError Class

Collects information relevant to a warning or error returned by SQL Server.

See Also: SqlError Members


public sealed class SqlError


This class is created by the .NET Framework Data Provider for SQL Server when an error occurs. An instance of System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError is created and managed by the System.Data.SqlClient.SqlErrorCollection, which in turn is created by the System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException class.

Messages with a severity level of 10 or less are informational and indicate problems caused by mistakes in information that a user has entered. Severity levels from 11 through 16 are generated by the user, and can be corrected by the user. Severity levels from 17 through 25 indicate software or hardware errors. When a level 17, 18, or 19 error occurs, you can continue working, although you might not be able to execute a particular statement.

The System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection remains open when the severity level is 19 or less. When the severity level is 20 or greater, the server usually closes the System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection. However, the user can reopen the connection and continue. In both cases, a System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException is generated by the method executing the command.

For more information on errors generated by ssNoVersion, see tp:// For more information about severity levels, see tp://


Namespace: System.Data.SqlClient
Assembly: System.Data (in System.Data.dll)
Assembly Versions: 1.0.3300.0, 1.0.5000.0,